Skip to content
GitHub Twitter

Confusion and Scorn

Scene: A coffee shop

(Confusion and Scorn are sitting at a table, having a conversation)

Confusion: (confused) I just don't understand it. Everything seems so jumbled, like I can't make sense of anything.

Scorn: (scornfully) You're not alone in that. Most people are just lost, blindly following the herd without knowing where they're going.

Confusion: (perplexed) But, why? Why do people do that? Why do they let others dictate their lives?

Scorn: (disdainfully) Because they're weak, afraid to think for themselves, to take control of their own lives. They'd rather be told what to do than to make their own decisions.

Confusion: (puzzled) I just don't understand it. Why would someone choose to give up their autonomy like that?

Scorn: (disgusted) Because they're lazy, because they're content with mediocrity, because they're afraid of failure. It's easier to follow than to lead.

Confusion: (sighing) I suppose that's one way to look at it. But, I can't help feeling like there's more to it than that.

Scorn: (laughing) More to it? There's nothing more to it. People are simply too afraid to face the truth, to admit that they're not in control of their own lives.

Confusion: (firmly) Well, I don't want to be like that. I want to understand, to make sense of it all.

Scorn: (smirking) Good luck with that. Most people never do.

Confusion: (determined) Well, I'm not most people. I won't give up until I find the answers I'm looking for.

Scorn: (skeptical) We'll see about that. But, if you do find something, let me know. I'll be sure to be surprised.

(They both smile, acknowledging their differences and respecting each other's perspectives)