Skip to content
GitHub Twitter

Fondness and Doubt

Scene: A coffee shop, Fondness and Doubt are having a conversation.

Fondness: (smiling) Can you believe we've known each other for 10 years now? It feels like just yesterday we met in college.

Doubt: (skeptically) If I'm being honest, I don't remember much about our time in college. I'm not even sure we were close back then.

Fondness: (surprised) What? Of course we were! We had so many great memories together. Remember when we went on that road trip to the beach?

Doubt: (dubiously) I have a feeling you might be remembering that wrong. I don't think I was there.

Fondness: (insistently) Yes, you were! You were driving the car and we sang along to all the songs on the radio.

Doubt: (frustrated) I really don't remember any of that. Are you sure it wasn't someone else?

Fondness: (disappointed) I don't understand why you're doubting me. I have such strong memories of our friendship.

Doubt: (apologetically) I'm sorry. I didn't mean to upset you. It's just that sometimes our memories can be a little fuzzy, especially when it comes to things from so long ago.

Fondness: (understandingly) I guess you're right. Maybe I am mixing things up a bit. But even if our memories are different, the fact remains that we have a strong bond and a long history together.

Doubt: (nodding) That's true. And I'm grateful for that, no matter what the details of our past may be.

(They smile at each other, their bond strengthened by their willingness to accept and appreciate each other despite their differing perspectives)