Skip to content
GitHub Twitter

Pride and Anguish

Scene: A courtroom, Pride and Anguish are witnesses in a trial.

Pride: (confidently) Your honor, I stand before you today as a proud and upstanding citizen. I know the truth and I'm here to tell it.

Anguish: (distraught) I don't know what to do. This is all just so overwhelming.

Pride: (condescendingly) Oh, come on. It's not that complicated. Just tell the truth and everything will be fine.

Anguish: (tearfully) It's not that simple. I'm scared of what might happen if I speak up.

Pride: (arrogantly) Scared? There's nothing to be scared of. I'll handle it. I always do.

Anguish: (miserably) But what if I'm wrong? What if I say something that makes things worse?

Pride: (haughtily) You're just not confident enough. You need to stand up for yourself and have some pride in your actions.

Anguish: (helplessly) I wish it was that easy. I feel like I'm stuck in this never-ending cycle of doubt and fear.

Pride: (disdainfully) That's just a weakness. You need to overcome it and do the right thing.

Anguish: (painfully) I'm trying, but it's so hard. I just want to go home and forget about all of this.

Pride: (firmly) No, you can't give up now. You have to face your fears and do what's right. That's the only way to find peace.

(Anguish takes a deep breath and begins to speak, with Pride watching on, filled with a sense of pride and confidence in their own abilities)